Monday, July 13, 2015

The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Goodreads Summary:
Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

My Review:
This book reminded me somewhat of Meg Cabot's All-American Girl, and it read just as easily. I'm not going to lie, this book took me a while to get into. After the first several chapters though, I was hooked. I rest the rest of the book in a day. It is a fairly light, contemporary, young adult read. There were some more serious parts of the book, but nothing too serious. I appreciated that. I liked that issues were brought up, but it never made the book feel depressing or emotionally intense. It definitely brought up some political issues, but that was to be expected in a book about running for president.

I enjoyed getting to see a little bit about the behind the scenes aspects of what it is like to run for president. It was even more interesting to get to see this from the perspective of a teenager. It was very exciting, and there was never a dull moment. There were a lot of people involved, and we got a glimpse of what each of them did, and how they were involved in the campaign. We also got to see their character. I think the author did a great job of allowing the reader to see the true character of some of the smallest characters in the book.

The romance between Kate and her love interest is great as well. I could always feel what she was feeling depending on the circumstances at that time. I was excited for her, and then mad for her. I felt all of the emotions right along with her, which made this book a really enjoyable one. There was some drama in this book as well. While some things made me cringe and sit on the edge of my seat, it really kept the pace of the book going. I really enjoyed this book, and would definitely recommend it.

4 stars
I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

1 comment: