Thursday, May 16, 2013

Five Summers


Five Summers by Una LaMarche

Goodreads Summary:
Four best friends, five summers of camp memories.

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring...
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth...
The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle...
The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar...
Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable... and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart.

Three years after the fateful last night of camp, the four of us are coming back to camp for reunion weekend—and for a second chance. Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Anne Brashares and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters.

My Review:
This was a really great book about friendship and growing up. It was very much bittersweet, as is the process of growing up. There are pros and cons to becoming old enough to be independent and such. We really get to see the girls go through this journey together. I loved how the book would take place in present day, and then flashback to one of their previous summers together. Each chapter was also told from a different girl's point of view. It switched between the four girls. I liked that, and liked getting to really know each of the girls and what their life was like.

There was a lot of romance. (Spoiler -->) Not all of the romance ended with a happy ending. Normally, I would have really been upset about this. However, I barely even noticed until the end of the book because of how well it was written. I felt that the relationship(s) needed to be ended, or whatever the case may be. I got very wrapped up into this story, and just went with it. For me as a reader, I take that as a sign of great writing. (End Spoiler)

The one thing that I did not like was that there were a few spots that I had to push myself to keep reading. It did not happen very often, and I was always glad that I kept reading. Nonetheless, it was a little frustrating at times. For the most part though, I greatly enjoyed this book!

4 stars
I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment