Sunday, October 30, 2016

The Christmas Surprise

About the Book



Juliette Mabry is a happily married stay-at-home wife and mother...until there appears to be trouble brewing in her nearly ten-year marriage. Juliette takes it upon herself to find out if her husband is up to no good, but does she want to know the truth? Everything is revealed on Christmas, and Juliette is in for her biggest Christmas surprise.



Participating Blogs



Jersey Girl Book Reviews

Nothing Better Than a Book

Cat Lavoie

Caroline Fardig

T's Stuff

Chick Lit Goddess

Josie Ann

The Book Bag

Granny Loves to Read

Book Lover in Florida 

Queen of All She Reads

Coffeeholic Bookworm

Bookaholic Babe

Authors and Readers Book Corner

A Southern Girls Bookshelf

Hello Chick Lit

Spunky N Sassy

Jen's Reading Obsession

A Page to turn

Little Miss Drama Queen

Anne Kemp



About the Author



Samantha March is an author, editor, publisher, blogger, and all around book lover. She runs the popular book/women’s lifestyle blog ChickLitPlus, which keeps her bookshelf stocked with the latest reads and up to date on all things beauty, fashion and fitness. In 2011 she launched her independent publishing company Marching Ink and has four published novels – Destined to Fail, The Green Ticket, A Questionable Friendship and Up To I Do. You can also find her on Youtube sharing beauty reviews and creating makeup tutorials. When she isn’t reading, writing, or vlogging, you can find her cheering for the Green Bay Packers and Chicago Cubs. Samantha lives in Iowa with her husband and Vizsla puppy.



Samantha Links



Snapchat: Samantha.March



Book Links
The Christmas Surprise – http://amzn.to/2fk6vPc
Destined To Fail - http://amzn.to/2egZj0M
The Green Ticket  - http://amzn.to/2eDKWbl
A Questionable Friendship - http://amzn.to/2eiuSsq - 99 CENTS! 
Up To I Do - http://amzn.to/2egYZyY - FREE!







The Christmas Surprise – http://amzn.to/2fk6vPc

HUGE GIVEAWAY TO CELEBRATE!




Monday, August 3, 2015

Drowning in my TBR Pile #5

Photo taken from here.

I have WAAAY too many books on my TBR pile (both physical and on my kindle). In fact, it's out of control. So, this post is going to become a monthly thing. You can check out my first post here.

Here's how it works:
At the end of every month, I am going to tell you how many books are on my TBR, how many I have added, how many I have deducted (either by reading or giving away), and my new total number of books on my TBR. This is supposed to help me keep this in check. We will see how it goes. (By the way-- this is only books that I own. They can be physical copies or on my kindle, but this does not include all the books on my goodreads list that I want to read. Just what I already own or have received for review).

In my first post I told you that I had 364 books on my TBR. Last month it went up to 381 books. Since then I have added 0 more books. So, now we still have a total of 381. And I have read 3 books. Which leaves us with an updated total of 378 books!

The number is still higher than I started with unfortunately, but it is decreasing!!

How many books do you have on your TBR? How do you keep track and keep things under control? I would love to know your secrets!

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine.

Not After Everything by Michelle Levy
Release Date: August 4, 2015

Goodreads Summary:
A gritty but hopeful love story about two struggling teens—
great for fans of The Spectacular Now, Willow, and Eleanor and Park

Tyler has a football scholarship to Stanford, a hot girlfriend, and a reliable army of friends to party with. Then his mom kills herself. And Tyler lets it all go. Now he needs to dodge what his dad is offering (verbal tirades and abuse) and earn what his dad isn’t (money). Tyler finds a job that crashes him into Jordyn, his former childhood friend turned angry-loner goth-girl. She brings Tyler an unexpected reprieve from the never-ending pity party his life has become. How could he not fall for her? But with his dad more brutally unpredictable than ever, Tyler knows he can’t risk bringing Jordyn too deeply into the chaos. So when violence rocks his world again, will it be Jordyn who shows him the way to a hopeful future? Or after everything, will Tyler have to find it in himself?

Monday, July 27, 2015

Map to the Stars

Map to the Stars by Jen Malone

Goodreads Summary:
Author Jen Malone draws on her real-life experiences as a movie studio publicist to bring you an insider peek at love, Hollywood-style.

The California dream was supposed to give seventeen-year-old Annie Shelton a fresh start far removed from her dad’s unusual betrayal. But when things don’t go according to plan in La La Land, Annie’s mom snags a last-minute gig as makeup artist to a teen movie idol and finagles a spot for her daughter on his European promotional tour.

Down-to-earth Annie would rather fangirl architectural sights than an arrogant A-lister. That is, until behind-the-scenes Graham Cabot turns out to be more sweetly vulnerable than she could have imagined.

Too bad falling for a poster boy isn’t all red carpets and star treatment, especially when you factor in obnoxious fans, an overprotective assistant, a stage mom/manager, and a beefy bodyguard.

But it isn’t until the paparazzi make an appearance that things get really sticky…

My Review:
At only 241 pages, this is a very quick read. This is a very cute, contemporary, young adult book. I did not want to put this book down. It wasn't suspenseful, in fact it was kind of predictable, but it was just so dang cute. I love cheesy, teen romance stories so this book was right up my ally.

I loved the romance between Graham and Annie. They were so cute together, and I loved all of the little quirks of their relationship. I really liked all of their adventures as well. They were being typical teens, but it was cute to watch their relationship unfold.

5 stars
I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine.

Confessions of a Tinderella by Rosy Edwards
Release Date: August 1, 2015

Goodreads Summary:
The laugh-out-loud true story of one girl's experience of life on Tinder

Rosy Edwards is the epitome of a contradictory 20-something year old. She’s frugal when it comes to food shopping, but is willing to spend £17 on shampoo. She’s career-minded, she just doesn’t know which career to have in mind right now. And although she’s happy being single, a part of her kind of wants a boyfriend. So after a few unsuccessful dates with friends of friends (read: being forced to date their shortest/dullest/oddest acquaintance), she put herself on Tinder, the app that has transformed the world of online dating. And she soon learns the unspoken rules the hard way: always reject a guy with black and white profile pics (he is ginger and/or ugly); is wearing a hat (bald); has a shot of his torso (moron); or is not standing beside anything scaleable (5”8 and under). And then there are the dates themselves. From a 3:30 am dinner date to a borderline drug bust in Chelsea, Rosy has experienced it all, swinging through her love life on the trapeze of Tinder. She falls for the wrong guys, ditches the nice ones, but can she finally find her happy ending? Amazingly honest and hilariously funny, Rosy’s story shows us all that the key to a successful love life could just be a swipe away.

Why I'm Waiting:
This sounds hilarious! I actually met my current boyfriend on Tinder, but I had lots of crazy experiences before I met him. I am sure this book will not disappoint.

Monday, July 13, 2015

The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

Goodreads Summary:
Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

My Review:
This book reminded me somewhat of Meg Cabot's All-American Girl, and it read just as easily. I'm not going to lie, this book took me a while to get into. After the first several chapters though, I was hooked. I rest the rest of the book in a day. It is a fairly light, contemporary, young adult read. There were some more serious parts of the book, but nothing too serious. I appreciated that. I liked that issues were brought up, but it never made the book feel depressing or emotionally intense. It definitely brought up some political issues, but that was to be expected in a book about running for president.

I enjoyed getting to see a little bit about the behind the scenes aspects of what it is like to run for president. It was even more interesting to get to see this from the perspective of a teenager. It was very exciting, and there was never a dull moment. There were a lot of people involved, and we got a glimpse of what each of them did, and how they were involved in the campaign. We also got to see their character. I think the author did a great job of allowing the reader to see the true character of some of the smallest characters in the book.

The romance between Kate and her love interest is great as well. I could always feel what she was feeling depending on the circumstances at that time. I was excited for her, and then mad for her. I felt all of the emotions right along with her, which made this book a really enjoyable one. There was some drama in this book as well. While some things made me cringe and sit on the edge of my seat, it really kept the pace of the book going. I really enjoyed this book, and would definitely recommend it.

4 stars
I received this book for free in return for an honest review.

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Stacking the Shelves #12


Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews.

For Review:
Books, Blogs, & Reality by Ryan Ringbloom

In Good Company (A Class of Their Own #2) by Jen Turano

Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid

Come Back to Me (Come Back To Me #1) by Mila Gray and Sarah Alderson

Map to the Stars by Jen Malone